Kufty.com Tarot Resources and Free Tarot Lessons. Tarot card meanings symbols and pictures


Welcome         Introduction          View Card Decks          Easy Tarot Lessons



7. The Chariot

Sometimes displayed as VII The Chariot, it is one of the 78 cards in a Tarot deck that make up the Major Arcana or Trump Cards. It is also the seventh Trump of the 22 Trump cards in most decks.






 0 The Fool

 1 The Magician

 2 The High Priestess

 3 The Empress

 4 The Emperor

 5 The Hierophant

 6 The Lovers

 7 The Chariot

 8 Strength

 9 The Hermit

10 The Wheel of Fortune

11 Justice

12 The Hanged Man

13 The Death Card

14 Temperance

15 The Devil

16 The Tower

17 The Star

18 The Moon

19 The Sun

20 Judgement

21 The World

Ace of Cups

Ace of Wands

Ace  of Pentacles

Ace of Swords





The Chariot - Meaning of the Symbols.

The Chariot tarot card In tarot the Chariot symbolizes forceful forward actions, going for it with determination  and victory in the face of opposing forces. Those forces are symbolized as good and evil by the sphinxes which are looking away from each other.  The square on his chest symbolizes his vibrant nature which is enabling him to controls the direction the chariot takes him with the power of his mind, not physically.
He travels away from the establishment but will his ambitions take him in the right direction.

The Self is the rider in the Chariot of the body, of which the senses
are the horses and the mind the reins





















  The Chariot Correspondences and Associations.


Defining Keywords
Determination. Conquest. Ambition. Movement. Travel. Progress. Communication. Direction.

The Chariots Meaning.
Renewed optimism and motivation will bring you success. A victory achieved through personal effort. Travel.

The Chariot Reversed.
There's a need to resolve a situation involving conflicting forces. Delays and frustration, travel plans that go wrong.

The Chariot ends the first 'Worldly sequence' phase of the Fools journey, he charges off to find his inner self.


Emotion, Diplomatic, Intensity, Impulsive, Selective

The Sun is in Cancer between about 21st June and 22nd July.

Crabs hide in their shells for safety, and will wave their claws at an approaching threat, but get under their soft belly and they can be badly hurt. Cancerians are the same, but they're as sensitive to the feelings of others as they are to their own, have creative imaginations, and they are devoted to home and family. If your Sun is in Cancer, you'll take care of ageing parents, and fight for your children against all-comers.

To the outside world, the Cancer Rising person can sometimes seem moody; people can upset you without meaning to, but they are very glad to come and have a cup of coffee in your kitchen and pour out their troubles, knowing you'll listen and understand. You are wary of giving your heart to someone, but you love to have someone on whom you can depend.


9 Hagalaz: (H: Hail.) Wrath of nature, destructive, uncontrolled forces, especially the weather, or within the unconscious. Tempering, testing, trial. Controlled crisis, leading to completion, inner harmony. Hagalaz Merkstave (Hagalaz cannot be reversed, but may lie in opposition): Natural disaster, catastrophe. Stagnation, loss of power. Pain, loss, suffering, hardship, sickness, crisis.

9. Hagalaz: There is a need to break free from constraints, and prepare for a change in your life or your situation. There are some things beyond your control, and there may be strife and turmoil coming into your life. It signals a need to re-focus your life, aligning it with mythic models. Though this Rune has only an upright position, it operates through reversal. You may feel as though you are waking from a long sleep and take some time to come to your full senses. There may be a loss before there is a great gain. This Rune may symbolize a magician, sorcerer, mystic, witch, mage or priest.









see more tarot card variations of The Chariot with interesting artist interpretations



















Back to Top


Copyright © 2008-2013 kufty.com. All Rights Reserved.
Be Happy